How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Problems, bugs, suggestions... anything related to SMPlayer.

How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby guptavaasu@gmail.com » Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:20 pm

As the title says, I can take a screenshot when the video is playing but not a screenshot when the video is paused...
guptavaasu@gmail.com
 

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby MacTheKnife » Wed Mar 16, 2011 11:42 pm

After clicking on screenshot, if you then framestep a frame or two (or just resume playing) it will take the screenshot.

Yes, it's annoying. And yes you have to anticipate a frame or two before the capture you actually want.
So what I usually do is pause a few frames before the frame I actually want to capture then alternately click "screenshot" then "step" and repeat until I've advanced past the frame I actually wanted to capture and now I have several screenshots saved off and I can select the frame I want to keep and delete the others.
MacTheKnife
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby Alex » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:51 pm

Alternative to screenshot (works while in pause):
Pause video, press PRINTSCRN button on keyboard, (whatever is on screen is saved to the clipboard), open any image editor
and paste, then can be saved as any jpg image file.
Alex
 

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby MacTheKnife » Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:30 pm

Alex wrote:Alternative to screenshot (works while in pause):
Pause video, press PRINTSCRN button on keyboard, (whatever is on screen is saved to the clipboard), open any image editor
and paste, then can be saved as any jpg image file.


That sometimes won't work with some of the video drivers that use overlay video (you'll just get a black screen in the screenshot). And in my case, I'm often doing screenshots of 1080i material and I want the capture to be full resolution, but my monitor is 1600x1200 so the image on my monitor is not the full 1080i image. So PRINTSCRN won't give me the full resolution but screenshot does.

Other than those issue, yeah PRINTSCRN is often a lot more convenient.
MacTheKnife
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby mokakan » Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:54 pm

Pause video press prntscr on keyboard, open mspaint and paste, then can be saved as any jpg image file.
mokakan
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 3:50 pm

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby SmoothRender » Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:57 pm

MacTheKnife wrote:
Alex wrote:Alternative to screenshot (works while in pause):
Pause video, press PRINTSCRN button on keyboard, (whatever is on screen is saved to the clipboard), open any image editor
and paste, then can be saved as any jpg image file.


That sometimes won't work with some of the video drivers that use overlay video (you'll just get a black screen in the screenshot). And in my case, I'm often doing screenshots of 1080i material and I want the capture to be full resolution, but my monitor is 1600x1200 so the image on my monitor is not the full 1080i image. So PRINTSCRN won't give me the full resolution but screenshot does.

Other than those issue, yeah PRINTSCRN is often a lot more convenient.


I was going to post that solution too but then I recalled that often the screenshot was black. Especially in the older days when I was using VLC. I always wondered why! So thanks for, at last, enlightening me MacTheKnife! Though I still dont quite get it...are you saying the reason its black is only due to the solution of the video? And that I can fix that by adjusting my monitor resolution? Or are you saying the problem only stems from the overlay video...whatever that means? Thanks.
"As a man thinketh in his heart so is he..." - James Allen
Feel free to read my lacie usb key post
SmoothRender
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:52 pm
Location: At home..where else? ;-)

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby Bear88881 » Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:59 pm

yes the PRINTSCRN button works for me...
Bear88881
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:39 pm

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby MacTheKnife » Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:09 pm

SmoothRender wrote:
MacTheKnife wrote:
Alex wrote:...

I was going to post that solution too but then I recalled that often the screenshot was black. Especially in the older days when I was using VLC. I always wondered why! So thanks for, at last, enlightening me MacTheKnife! Though I still dont quite get it...are you saying the reason its black is only due to the solution of the video? And that I can fix that by adjusting my monitor resolution? Or are you saying the problem only stems from the overlay video...whatever that means? Thanks.


I don't fully understand all the technical details, but my understanding of it was that the video would be rendered in a different area of video memory and then "overlayed" on top of the desktop by the GPU when the frame was output to the monitor. But since the video image was just output to the monitor and not copied to the area of memory where the desktop was being rendered, the screenshot software would just get a black area for that part of the image.
MacTheKnife
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby eddz1949 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:08 am

PRINTSCRN then save using any image editor..
eddz1949
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:57 am

Re: How can we take a screenshot when the video is paused?

Postby Bill Albert » Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:23 am

Is there an easy way to reduce the size of the file in order to send it as an email? My printscreen file is huge.
Bill Albert
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 10:13 am

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests