[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4688: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4690: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4691: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4692: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
SMPlayer Support Forum • View topic - Compile with Qt4 or Qt5
Page 1 of 1

Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:32 am
by colibris79
I would like to know which one is better for compiling the svn versions. Right now I am compiling with qt4 because I can add the numpad keyboard shortcuts, but in which cases would it be better to use qt5?
And if I have all the dependencies for compiling with both qt4 and qt5, how can I choose which version to use when making the .deb file?
For older computers would it be better to use qt4?

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 1:31 pm
by rvm
Maybe smplayer with Qt 4 would be more stable, however there are new features that only work with Qt 5 and I'm building the new packages with Qt 5. Also the linux distros are building smplayer with Qt 5. So for me it would be better that people would use Qt 5 and report the problems that they might find so I can fix them as soon as possible.

If you have the development packages for both Qt 4 and Qt 5 you can select the version by installing qtchooser. Then you only have to set an environment variable:
export QT_SELECT=qt4
or
export QT_SELECT=qt5

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 3:18 am
by colibris79
Great, I will use qt5 then and for my old netbook might try with the qt4.
What is the best way to check all the changes you introduce in the subversions? In the svn sources page sometimes is not very clear to me and some folders like src it says there are too many files to list them. Is there any kind of changes log?

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 11:42 am
by rvm
You can use the command
svn log -r BASE:HEAD

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 7:08 am
by colibris79

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:03 am
by rvm
Try with delete the previous compilation:

make clean

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 11:55 am
by colibris79

Re: Compile with Qt4 or Qt5

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2016 10:25 pm
by rvm
I think it's not normal those errors at the end. Maybe a file failed to compile.